Wake Forest Historical Museum

Due to concerns over COVID-19, the museum has suspended public operations until further notice. Staff will be checking emails and voicemail regularly and responding as quickly as possible to questions and concerns. Please check back for updates. Thank you for understanding.

Building the Exhibits

As of October 1, 2010, what was once a cavernous black space is now taking shape… turning into the small, three-walled rooms (known as “vignettes” in museum lingo) where museum visitors will see the artifacts, photographs and documents that make the very best exhibits educational and engaging in a way that mimics real life.

Museum designer Ron Holland came all the way from Asheville to start construction on this area, beginning with the Calvin Jones entrance, the Judicial Room, the Law Room and the Medical Room. All are coming along nicely and should create a big “wow” factor for the official grand opening on November 14th.

Exhibit designer Ches Crow did the research leading up to this moment… with drawings and designs illustrating the Wake Forest experience.

And former state archivist Cathy Morris dug up some fascinating information dating back to the 1920s… old yearbook quotes that might find their way onto the wall of one of these vignettes!

About wakeforestmuseum

This is the Old Well that stands beside the two-story Greek-Revival house in northern Wake County that was purchased by Calvin Jones in 1820 along with 600 acres of land. It is the oldest historic structure in the Town of Wake Forest. Initially used concurrently as a residence, doctor’s office, and post office, the property was sold in 1832 to the North Carolina Baptist Convention, which was seeking a suitable location to educate young ministers. What is now Wake Forest University opened here in 1834 and, under the guidance of first President Samuel Wait, began to develop a flourishing student body, advanced curriculum, and new brick campus. Today the Calvin Jones House is part of a four acre complex that includes gardens, pathways, and a state of the art museum. The house is furnished to reflect the period of its various residents, and the museum’s extensive displays depict the history of college and town.

Leave a Reply


This entry was posted on July 21, 2013 by in Exhibits and tagged , , .
%d bloggers like this: